Arthur Kalmeyer (art_of_arts) wrote,
Arthur Kalmeyer

  • Mood:


In the wake of the re-election of U.S. President Barack Obama citizens are signing petitions by the masses to be granted permission “to peacefully withdraw from the United States of America and to create their own government,” according to the White House’s We the People Petition website.

The 39 states that have signed the petition are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and Virginia. While most of the states aforementioned are from the Deep South, a few of them are blue states.

The petitions of Louisiana, Florida and Texas have reached beyond the threshold of 25,000 signatures. Texas, which considers itself as a “republic,” not a state, leads the pack with 82,580 and its petition was created on November 9. Louisiana, which was the first state to create a petition the day after President Obama was re-elected comes second with 31,072 signatures. Florida has 26,020 signatures and was created on November 10. All three of these petitions will receive an official response from the Obama administration.


Tags: Америка

  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded